Oncologist 2: What the ? 7/21/14

Last Monday I went in to the surgery with Stage 1c Ovarian cancer, right? And I was asked a couple of times if I was clear on what was to be done. Remove uterus, cervix, omentum, lymph nodes and repair hernia while taking a look see for funky looking cancer. Okay, we were all on the same page – last week.

Today I met with the surgeon and she began by removing the staples. Thank you God, because for some reason I do not respond to pain relief medication. And narcotics simply let me feel the pain while on drugs. We then went into her office where my app to record decided to not work. And I had to rely on pen and paper.

She pulls out her diagrams and photos again. “What we did was…” Cervix was clear of cancer. Lymph nodes are clear of cancer. Omentum is clear of cancer. Washed the area and checked for free floating cancer cells, all clear. However…

This is the “Do you want the good news or the bad news?” part.

The good news is I don’t need chemo! And it has probably all been removed via surgery.

The bad news is, for today, I have stage 3a Uterine cancer.

 

WTF?

According to the surgeon, the cancer started in my uterus and traveled down my tubes into my ovaries where it presented as endometrial-like, which ovarian cancer can do. My uterus still looked fine as the cancer had only gone in the lining a little bit. So until the surgeon saw the pathologist report she had no idea.  Plus my menstrual cycles have been regular, like clockwork for 12 years. Irregular bleeding is an indication of uterine cancer.  Also, there was a dime size tumor on the ligament behind the uterus.

To say I am confused would be to put it lightly. There is rejoicing that chemo has been taken off the table. I do like being unique.

The next step is to send the tissue out to Boston to see what the bigger machines that go Bing! can see and the different tests can test.

Are you as confused as we are?

7 thoughts on “Oncologist 2: What the ? 7/21/14

  1. Thanks for the update. You’re on our minds and in our hearts, good news and bad. Let’s hope the pain subsides in a hurry. I know what you mean about those meds.

  2. Plain and simple… mind boggled! Thinking with what is left with poor mind =’s Ditto Lynn Eaton! Thinking positively… YAY! No Chemo!!! Sooo… if all has been taken out… all could be well and done and recovery only needed now??? Hope yes on that. AND, you Binging Boston Machines… confirm that please and remain silent and Bing Free on all other cancer issues!

    Sweet dreams, Dear Wren!

  3. I always knew you were unique and special… but in this case… well I am glad for positive news and pray for you to heal. 😉 and ;(

  4. That’s better news than ovarian and with better results. Get a second opinion if you need more info. and don’t ever be afraid to do that. Prayers and faithful.thoughts coming your way. Deb
    No chemo is a definite bonus!

  5. Confusing is right! Wren I had the uterine however it was not the same stage. I didn’t need chemo either, however, the ligament thing is a confusing. I am glad they are looking further. Many prayers and gentle huggs coming your way. All that is left to do is let it go give to god! Thanks for all the posting and I am here for the asking!

Leave a comment