The Wrens are Here!

I was trying to decide what to do with my blog now that the cancer thing is “over.” I mean, sure, I still have to see the doctors and have the blood tests and be scanned and worry over every ache and pain if the cancer is back or new or … but other than that, it’s over, right? The hair is growing back. No more needles or laser lights or side effects du jour… so, it’s over, right? And the snow is melting, and the birds are twitterpated and it is Easter and… it’s over, right? And it’s not like I had much to report, really. So I figured I would just let it slide.

Well, it seems God has other plans. Yesterday I got 2 messages to keep going. One was from a friend on facebook who found out last week he had cancer. As far as I know he doesn’t even know of this blog, but the message was simply: “You continue to be an example for others!!” The other message was clearer: I opened the blinds on the back porch, and there flitting on a plant right next to the door were my two wrens – waiting for me. Asking for me. “Where are you? Where is our home?”

So I will continue my blog. I will continue to share my journey of using the 12 Step Program of Overeaters Anonymous (OA) to help me live life on life’s terms. If it helps others, wonderful! I surely know it helps me. Remember it is an anonymous program, so if you do know who I am in the real world, please keep that to yourself and refer to me as “Wren” if you comment – in keeping with OA’s cherished Tradition 11. We wish only to promote the miracle of this program – it does work when you work it. That being said, I do talk about religion sometimes in my blog and not just spirituality. OA does NOT endorse any religion – in fact it says “God as I understand him.”* I take that liberty as my church community, as well as my therapy, has been so helpful in helping me recover.

A little cancer update. I did go for genetic screening the other day. I figured since “they” still aren’t definitive in my diagnosis, and it was in my ovaries AND uterus and there is a chance, I might as well see if there is a marker for a second cancer. And this way if it comes back negative for me, my sisters and my cousins and my aunts don’t have to worry. (Gilbert and Sullivan reference there) I know my brothers and my male cousins and my uncles and my nieces and nephews would have to go for testing too if it were positive. I did ask, “If there is a genetic marker, does it increase the risk for a secondary cancer arising from radiation or chemo?” I was told, “Good question.” I hope there is a good answer.

For today, as for the last 10 months, I continue to take it one day at a time. One step at a time. Thank you for continuing to take it with me.

for more information on Overeaters Anonymous, please visit www.oa.org

2 thoughts on “The Wrens are Here!

  1. Very happy to hear that you shall continue your blog! I value hearing from you and would miss your thoughts, heart songs and inspiration greatly!

Leave a comment